Low Carb in 2002

I was going through my closet to find some clothes that I could donate to the poor when I came across a binder with some of my old diet info in it.  It was a small list of foods that I ate while I was doing the Low-Carb diet way back in 2002.  I remember doing this diet and I know that it worked because  I had done it once before in 1999.  At that time I went from 190 down to 167.  This didn’t last though.  As soon as I put the first piece of bread in my mouth I gained it all back.  This list that I just came across in my closet shows that my starting weight was 187 and my goal (as always ) was 140.  I’m not sure how long I followed this diet this second time because I only have 12 days worth of info, but I do know that I lost 7  pounds within that short period of time.

Here is the list of what I ate:

Nov. 18, 2002 – 187 (Goal – 140)

Breakfast – 2 boiled eggs, 1 oz. cheddar

Lunch – 2 chicken hot dogs, 1 1/2 slices of chicken bacon, 1 oz. cheddar, 1 romaine leaf (all rolled up together)

Snack – 1 oz. cheddar

Supper – 2 small burgers (homemade – just meat), 1 cheese slice, 1 1/2 slices of chicken bacon, 1 romain leaf  (cheeseburger without the bun)

Nov. 19, 2002

Breakfast – 1 scrambled egg, 1 small burger

Lunch – flakes of turkey (canned – GROSS), 1 tbsp. mayo, 1 cheese slice, 1 romaine leaf (sandwich without the bread)

Snack – 1 oz. cheddar, 2 slices bologna, 10 peanuts (1 oz)

Supper – steak, 1/4 cup fried onions

Snack – 2 slices bologna, 1 oz. cheddar

Nov. 20, 2002

Breakfast – 2 scrambled eggs, 1 tbsp. ketchup

Lunch – 2 burgers (small – homemade), 1 cheese slice, 1 tbsp ketchup

Snack – 1 0z cheddar, steak cubes

Supper – chicken breast, 1/2 cup cream of mushroom soup, 1 carrot, 1/4 cup green beans

Nov. 21, 2002 – 184 (I lost 3 lbs.)

Breakfast – steak, 1/4 cup fried onions, 2 fried eggs

Lunch – 3 oz. bologna, 1 oz. provolone cheese, 1 romaine lettuce leaf

Snack – 2 stalks celery, 2 tbsp peanut butter

Supper – chicken breast, 1/2 cup cream of mushroom soup, 1 carrot, 1/4 cup green beans

Nov. 22, 2002

Breakfast – 2 slices chicken bacon, 1 oz. provolone cheese, 1 romaine leaf

Lunch – 1 oz. cheddar, 1/2 oz. Polish sausage, 2 sl. chicken bacon, 1 romaine leaf

Supper – 2 small homemade burgers, 1 carrot, 1/2 cup green beans

Snack – 3 cups popcorn

Nov. 23, 2002

Breakfst – 3 sl. chicken bacon, 1 fried egg

Lunch – 1 small burger, 1 carrot, 1/4 cup green beans

Supper – (At my niece’s birthday party – I didn’t write down what I ate)

Nov. 24, 2002

Breakfast – 1/2 oz. cheddar,

Lunch – 2 fried eggs, 2 beef hot dogs, 2 tbsp brown beans (canned)

Snack – 1 celery, 1 tbsp. peanut butter

Supper – 7 homemade meatballs (contained breadcrumbs), 1/2 cup tomato sauce, 1/2 cup broccoli

Nov. 25, 2002

Breakfast – 2 scrambled eggs, 4 sl. chicken bacon

Lunch – 4 beef hot dogs, 1 tbsp ketchup

Snack – prickly pear

Supper – steak, 1/4 cup fried onion

Nov. 26, 2002 – 182 (I’ve lost 5 lbs)

Breakfast – 2 boiled eggs, 1 oz. cheddar

Lunch – 1 beef hot dog, 1 small can tuna, 1 oz. cheddar, 1 tbsp mayo, 1 prickly pear

Snack – pork schnitzel, 1/8 cup applesauce (homemade – no sugar)

Supper – 4 sl. bacon, 2 fried eggs, 1 oz. cheddar

Nov. 27, 2002

Breakfast – 2 fried eggs, pork schnitzel

Lunch – 4 sl. mortadella (2 oz), 5 sl. Genoa hot salami (1 oz), 1 oz. cheddar, 2 romaine leaves

Snack – lime yogurt

Supper – 1 sausage, 1 pork schnitzel

Nov. 28, 2002

Breakfast – 2 scrambled eggs, 3 sl. bacon

Lunch – mortadella, salami, turkey (deli meats), tomato, bocconcini (baby mozzarella), romaine lettuce

Supper – chicken breast (baked), chicken breast (mushroom soup sauce), 6 baby carrots, 2 tbsp corn

Nov. 29, 2002

Breakfast – chicken breast (baked)

Lunch – chicken breast (musroom soup sauce), beans (just the insides of green snap beans) with tomato sauce

Snack – 1 celery, 1 tbsp peanut butter

Supper – veal and bacon on romaine

Nov. 30, 2002 – 180 (I lost 7 lbs)

Breakfast – veal, 2 fried eggs

I didn’t bother writing any more for this day and I didn’t continue writing down what I ate from then on.  I don’t remember if I continued this diet or not.  Obviously it was working for me – I didn’t do any exercise at this time – but the meals were so monotonous and boring.  Even though I was losing weight I just couldn’t keep it up.

I’m thinking of doing this diet again because I know it works and I can’t spend another summer being obese!  I weighed myself yesterday and I am now 205!!!  That’s only 5 lbs less than I was the day I gave birth to my 4th child 12 years ago!  This is the heaviest (non-pregnant) I have ever been and I know if I don’t do something I will keep gaining and gaining.  Every year it gets harder and harder to lose weight and I know if I don’t lose it now, I never will.  I will be 47 next month and I’ve always heard that once you hit 50 it just gets more difficult to lose weight.  My health issues (Fibromyalgia, Arthritis, and the blood clots in my lungs) are really preventing me from exercising enough to burn any calories.  I don’t know if I will continue this blog or not.  It’s so depressing to hear how  well everyone else is doing when I just keep getting fatter and fatter!

One response to “Low Carb in 2002

  1. Don’t stop blogging! Seriously. You can definitely do it, and blogging makes you that much more accountable. You also don’t need to revert to this diet to lose weight again, and there is so much more to being healthy than exercising for a burn! Even incorporating a few more fruits and vegetables into your diet and drinking a few more cups of water can help. If you can walk for 20 or 30 minute a day, burn or no burn at all, that’s still movement! I know for me it’s gotten super frustrating because I see people losing weight and being able to take complete control of their diet, where I’m still sneaking chocolate here and there and messing up my food intake, but I make up for it with exercise because that’s the only thing that makes me feel less guilty. Comparing myself to other blogs I follow has been my biggest downfall the past week or so, and I have to keep reminding myself that my body will work differently than every other body, and my weight will change at its own pace! Don’t give up, you can do it!

Leave a comment